Liverpool’s Everyman Theatre features on new Royal Mail stamp

Liverpool’s Everyman Theatre is one of 10 UK buildings to feature in Royal Mail’s latest set of Special Stamps.

The collection is being released to celebrate sites which represent the renaissance of contemporary architecture in the UK in recent years.

Unveiled today, it features a stamp showing the RIBA Stirling Prize winning incarnation of the iconic Hope Street theatre, which opened its doors in 2014.

Designed by specialist theatre architects Haworth Tompkins, the venue includes an auditorium inspired by the original Everyman performance space, as well as an on-street façade made up of 105 life-size portraits of Liverpool residents.

The images on the distinctive façade were taken by local photographer Dan Kenyon and etched onto moveable aluminium sunshades.


Deborah Aydon, executive director at Liverpool Everyman & Playhouse Theatres, says:  “The Everyman was a 10-year labour of love for us all and it’s absolutely thrilling to have it feature on a Royal Mail stamp.

“Liverpool has always been at the heart of what we do and architects Haworth Tompkins succeeded in making sure our fantastic theatre both welcomes and celebrates all members of our community.

“It’s wonderful that the people of Liverpool depicted on the building are being celebrated in this unique way.”

Philip Parker, stamp strategy manager at Royal Mail, adds: “These new stamps celebrate visionary buildings which combine stunning architecture with great engineering.”


The full set of landmark buildings to feature in the 10 Special Stamps includes:

Everyman Theatre, Liverpool

IWM (Imperial War Museum) North, Manchester

London Aquatics Centre, London

Library of Birmingham, Birmingham

SEC Armadillo, Glasgow

Scottish Parliament, Edinburgh

Giants’ Causeway Visitor Centre, Northern Ireland

National Assembly for Wales, Cardiff

Eden Project, St Austell

Blatvatnik Building (formerly Switch House) at Tate Modern, London

About Author: Natasha Young

Natasha Young is our Editor. She can be contacted by email or by phone on 0151 709 3871.